Musing about God

How often does God come to your mind? I can get so wrapped up in my to do lists and projects that I don’t think about God for hours. So much for praying without ceasing! One of my friends in my discipleship group challenged us recently. He said he heard that we should not only tithe our money but also tithe our time as well. There are a lot of things we can do for God, but I think we should also take time to just muse about him.

Musing is not a word that we use a lot. The definition is a period of deep thought, meditation or reflection. King David was a muser and he did it quite often. Here are a couple of examples:

“O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you think of him?” (Psalm 8:1, 3)

“On my bed I remember you; I meditate on you in the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. I cling to you; your right hand upholds me.” (Psalm 63:6-7).

So, how do I muse about God? I like to start my day with my quiet time by being…quiet. My body might be still but my mind is racing through everything that I have planned for the day and concerns that I have. So I get down on the floor in front of the window and try to empty my mind of all distractions. I don’t ask God for anything except to speak to me. Then I shut up and listen. When my mind begins to wander, I reign it back in by praising him and praying verses I’ve memorized. Before I get up I lift up my hands and worship him. I only do this for a few minutes but it helps to get me into the right frame of mind.

I then get into God’s word to hear what the Holy Spirit decides to reveal to me that morning. When something jumps out at me I write it down in my journal and share it with my wife and the men in my group at our next meeting. We are going through the same chapters together and we encourage each other with what we’re learning.

After a time of prayer, I sometimes go out back for a worship walk because the fresh air, trees and birds all do their part to usher me into God’s presence.

Take some time today to muse about God and marvel at his provision and majesty. It’s a sneak peak of what’s in store for us in the next life!

About Rob Beaird

Christ follower, husband, father, grandfather, son, brother, retired Technology Services Engineer for Ricoh-USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment