Life with Jesus, Week 40: Believe BIG!

“It shall be done to you according to your faith.” Matthew 9:29

As Sharon and I were flying home from one of our vacations, she pointed out to me a hole in the dark clouds through which we could see the blue sky.

We were in the midst of the clouds and caught a perspective that the people on the ground being rained on couldn’t see. As we descended, the hills and rivers of Middle Tennessee gradually came into view. Finally, homes, tiny cars, and miniature people appeared.

The Lord gave us a snapshot of the big picture. We humans can get so caught up in our own little everyday world that we forget that there is something and someone so much bigger out there. Sometimes all we see is the rain around us and we can’t see above the clouds where the sun rules.

So many Christians have settled for just a little Christianity. They only want enough to get by. All they need to do is just survive and hang in there until they get to their sweet home by and by. Do you want more than that? I do. I think God wants to do more for us, too. But he restrains himself when faith is in short supply:

“He did not do many miracles there because of their unbelief.”
(Matthew 13:58)

I want to see God work every day, going before me to soften and prepare the hearts of those friends, relatives, and co-workers who don’t know him. I want to see hope restored, relationships reconciled, addictions conquered, families strengthened, jobs found, lives changed, and people healed physically and emotionally. I want to see God speak through me and love through me, because I can’t do it. It’s not in me, I’ve tried. Apart from Christ, I can do absolutely nothing of lasting spiritual value. I may be able to get someone to consider spiritual matters, but the Holy Spirit is the one who draws that person to himself. I want to see God do “far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us.” (Ephesians 3:20). I want to see God not only work miracles in my life, but to see him do it in the ones I pray for, as well. I want to see American churches grow and thrive and make a difference in their communities. Is this asking too much? I don’t think so:

“Whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours…All things are possible to him who believes.”
(Matthew 21:22, Mark 9:23).

These are not carte blanche, name it-claim it statements that apply to everything we want. James warns against that: “You ask and do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, so that you may spend it on your pleasures.” (James 4:3). But I think everything in my wish list in the above paragraph can be prayed for with confidence.

We should always pray for God’s will to be done, but that doesn’t let us off the hook for believing that he will come through for us. God may not answer my prayer the way I ask him to, but until I know otherwise, I am to believe that he will. If he has another solution or wants me to wait, then I know it’s for the best, so that’s even better. God is not just a life raft to save us from all our problems. When he doesn’t remove them, he infuses in us the power to thrive in the midst of them. Our faith can certainly be tested, especially when we’re experiencing extreme physical or emotional pain, or other kinds of adversity, but I hope you’ll read something here to help you find a way to strengthen yourself in the Lord as David did when he was stressing because he was about to be stoned by his men after their families were captured by the enemy. (1 Samuel 30).

We should eagerly anticipate God to do wonderful things, not just hope that he will. What do you need the most right now? Don’t stop praying, no matter how long it takes. We need to recognize that God is who he says he is and will do what he says he will do. True peace is experienced when we come to a point where we just know he will take care of us, as certain as we are that the sun will rise and set every day.

“I do believe. Help my unbelief.” (Mark 9:24).

Start trusting God by obeying him. When the Israelites were told to cross the Jordan river when it was at flood stage, God didn’t hold back the water until the priests stepped in and got their feet wet. (Joshua 3:15-16). Be persistent and relentless with your pursuit of God. The more you commune with him, the better you will know him, and the more you will see him working in your life, which makes it easier to “bear all things, believe all things, and endure all things.” (1 Corinthians 13:7). You will also be able to better discern his will in the things you pray for.

It’s time to trade in our cold feet and get our feet wet!


Download a free copy of Life with Jesus: 52 Devotions to jump start your week:

About Rob Beaird

Christ follower, husband, father, grandfather, son, brother, retired Technology Services Engineer for Ricoh-USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment